(rant) Lack of Interest Happens


When I first heard about No Man’s Sky, I thought to myself, “That sounds neat”. It’s like a game that goes on forever, basically. Cool idea. I didn’t really care much beyond that. It kept coming up on my Twitter feed, and random conversations were being had all over the web about this new Goliath of a game. I had my eye on the news about No Man’s Sky, and for some reason, the spark just never happened. I didn’t care about the game.

Then I started working at Gamestop. I lasted three whole weeks at that place, but within those three weeks was the extra-hype session for No Man’s Sky; because the game was so close to being out. I had the advertisements playing in the background while working, I was taking pre-order money for the game, and having conversations about the game and how could it be soooo huuuuge man! I still didn’t care about the game.

It finally dawned on me that what was happening was pretty normal. I don’t think certain games look appealing while others do. Like Fallout 4 when that came out. I didn’t care a bit, and it was all over the web. Just like Minecraft before it when it blew up. I didn’t want to play it. Looked like a not-for-Jake title. It was a silent thing that I kept to myself. Going online and bothering people about my very small opinions regarding why I didn’t want to play those titles never crossed my mind. I was completely neutral about them.

The games were both good by all of my marks. I understood completely why they were popular, and I thought that the popularity was well deserved. I just thought the games looked neat. That’s all No Man’s Sky did for me as well: Just looked mildly interesting.

When I ask myself why I feel that way about such a popular game, I come up with a few responses. First would be that in order for a game to demand so much space, there would have to be a trade-off somewhere with the other features. So much attention went into the physical scope of the game that in my mind, attention probably was drawn away from meaningful dialogue and character development. Is it there? Sure, I think. But how would a game with astronomical intentions devote equal attention to all aspects of the game?

My friend purchased the game on day one and was staying over at my place for the weekend. I got to watch him play about five hours of No Man’s Sky right after launch, so the relevancy Gods were shining glory down upon us. It was super nice to sit back and spectate a super-hyped game that I didn’t want to buy. Because this way I could at least watch and understand what the game’s mechanics were delivering.

What I saw was a galaxy that was enormous. It was strange thinking about all the quickly passing little dots in the sky as full size, explorable areas. The awe factor of the scale of the game was unreal. I definitely said wow under my breath a few times. But the other parts of the game didn’t seem as interesting to me. Roaming around this randomly generated planet yielded few long-lasting, interesting events. Over the short time of a few hours, I already thought the game looked a bit monotonous. But as I have said, I’m biased in my views towards the game as a non-interested party.

You know what I did with my opinions after I had formed them over the course of five-ish hours of gameplay watching? Nothing. It really didn’t matter, because my friend was enjoying the game immensely. People online were sharing the love (or weren’t), and it was more appropriate for me to be a spectator for this round. I do like conversations regarding video games, but I think that they are better when there is some passion with the speakers. With some of these monster titles like Fallout 4, Minecraft, and No Man’s Sky, I simply don’t have any passion towards these titles.

 

Author: Darkrast

Co-Founder of Dpad Press.

Leave a Reply

